Below are the current guidelines that will be followed for COVID positive test and COVID exposures during the 2023-2024 school year.
Positive students must isolate for 5 days and can return to school on day 6 if their symptoms have improved and they have been without fever for at least 24 hours (day 0 is first day of symptoms or positive test if there are not symptoms). Testing is not required to return to school. It is recommended that students wear a mask when they return to school until day 10, but is no required.
Positive staff must isolate for 5 days and can return to work on day 6 if their symptoms have improved and they have been without fever for at least 24 hours. Testing is not required to return to school. Cal/OSHA regulations require that staff wear a mask when they return to work until day 10.
Masks are not required this year for any student or staff. However, all students and staff will be allowed to wear a mask in all activities related to school unless wearing a mask would pose a safety hazard (e.g., watersports).
EUSD will provide face covering sand ensure they are worn by employees when required by CDPH regulation or order.
The California Department of Public Health (CDPH) recommends all Californians wear a mask:
Around others if you have respiratory symptoms (e.g., cough, runny nose, and/or sore throat),
If you've had a significant exposure to someone who has tested positive for COVID-19, wear a mask for 10 days.
If you test positive for COVID-19, see guidance for mask wearing in the CDPH Guidance for Isolation and Quarantine of the General Public.
Limited take home tests are available at each EUSD campus. Please reach out to the school secretary if you need a test.
Information on Take Home Tests